TUFTS TRUSTEE EMERITUS Ioannis (Yannis) Miaoulis, E80, AG86, EG87, E12P, E15P, former dean of the School of Engineering at Tufts and longtime president of the Museum of Science, Boston, has been named the eleventh president of Roger Williams University (RWU) in Rhode Island.

“Distinguished by its commitment to experiential education and community engagement, RWU is ready to prepare all learners to excel in a rapidly changing world—and to tackle the problems that matter most to society,” Miaoulis said in a statement.

Portrait of Ioannis Milaoulis

Ioannis Miaoulis. (Photo: Courtesy Roger Williams University)

Miaoulis led the Museum of Science from 2003 through January 2019. Among other accomplishments, he guided the museum’s ambitious capital campaign, which raised more than $470 million, and led the creation of the National Center for Technological Literacy, which developed K-12 engineering materials that have reached an estimated two hundred thousand teachers and eighteen million students in fifty states and many countries.

Born in Athens, Greece, Miaoulis earned three degrees from Tufts—a BS in mechanical engineering in 1983, an MA in economics in 1986, and a PhD in mechanical engineering in 1987—as well as a master’s degree in mechanical engineering from MIT in 1984. Over the next decade, he rose from lecturer to professor of mechanical engineering. In 1994, at age thirty-two, he became the youngest-ever dean of the College of Engineering (he later worked with faculty to make it the School of Engineering). He transformed the school by creating new laboratories and the Center for Engineering Educational Outreach (CEEO) and established Tufts as a national leader in closing the gender gap in engineering.

Before he joined the Museum of Science, he was interim dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences in 2001 and associate provost from 2001 to 2002, and he served on the Tufts University Board of Trustees from 2006 to 2016. He was awarded the Tufts University Alumni Association’s Outstanding Service Award in 2003 and the Light on the Hill Award in 2011.