Fall 2016


Accolades Worth Celebrating

New Advisors

Appointed to the board of advisors to the School of Arts and Sciences are Barbara Evans, J64, vice president and secretary of PTM Charitable Foundation in New York City; Christina Greer, J00, a professor of political science at Fordham University; and Courtney Wang, A78, A15P, president of O-File in Dallas. Robert Keller, A83, vice chairman of J.P. Morgan in San Francisco, has been named an advisor to Tufts Athletics, and Sean Padgett, an investor in Grafton, Massachusetts, has joined the board of advisors to Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine. James Tiampo, A83, E83, president of Verbier Management Corporation in Blaine, Washington, is an advisor to the School of Engineering. New to the board of advisors to the Fletcher School are Edward Hoyt, F62, F64, F91P, of San Francisco; Anthony Scaramucci, A86, A14P, managing partner at Skybridge Capital in New York City; and Nancy Taussig, F14P, F19P, vice president of resource development for Save the Children. Michael Blau, N12P, a partner in the Boston firm Foley & Lardner, has been appointed an advisor to the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy. Joining the board of advisors to the School of Medicine are Lonnie H. Norris, DG80, M99P, A01P, dean emeritus of Tufts School of Dental Medicine; James Roosevelt, advisor to the board and CEO of the Tufts Health Plan; and Joshua Young of North Andover, Massachusetts. Thomas Bendheim, A85, of Barrington, Rhode Island, and Tammy Murphy, A19P, a member of Murphy Endeavors in Red Bank, New Jersey, are new advisors to Tisch College.


Book Awards

Justin Hollander, A96, an associate professor of urban and environmental policy and planning, and Ann Sussman, F85, received the 2016 Place Research Award from the Environmental Design Research Association for their book Cognitive Architecture: Designing for How We Respond to the Built Environment (Routledge, 2015). The authors use recent findings in neuroscience and evolutionary biology to identify key human traits that they say influence how we experience our surroundings. “The more you know about human behavior, the better you can design for it,” they write. The Island of Worthy Boys (She Writes Press, 2015), the debut novel by Connie Hertzberg Mayo, J86, has won the 2016 Independent Publisher “IPPY” Gold Award for Best Regional Fiction in the Northeast.


Poetry Prize

Brittany Perham, A03, the Jones Lecturer in the Stanford University Creative Writing Program, has won the 2016 Barnard Women Poets Prize for her poetry collection Double Portrait, which will be published in 2017 by W.W. Norton & Company. “Double Portrait, by turns playful, mournful, indulgent, musical, insightful, and all the way human, comes clean about our most driving desires,” said poet and playwright Claudia Rankine, who judged this year’s content. The annual poetry prize is awarded to an American woman poet for a best second volume of verse.